li182123.jpg

Heroin delivery before hemp legalization

At a lecture in February, Felix Gutzwiller, a preventive physician and member of the National Council, explained his assessment of the status of the narcotics law revision in Switzerland. An interesting lecture with a clear overview of the political problems in the revision of the Narcotics Law.

Lecture at the Institute for Addiction Research

The Institute for Addiction Research in Zurich organizes an event every month on prevention and treatment services in the field of addiction as part of the ISF Forum. It aims to bring together practice and research and to inform about trends in the field of addiction. At the beginning of 2000, the ISF had asked Felix Gutzwiller, a well-known bourgeois member of the National Council and professor of preventive medicine, to report on the revision of the Narcotics Law on February 6, 2001. At that time, it was still assumed that the Federal Council's message would certainly be available by the beginning of February, so that it could be informed and discussed at this lecture. But like so much in the history of the narcotics law revision, this deadline was not met. Nevertheless, the lecture took place - but the speaker would have preferred to discuss this next step concretely, rather than speculating about it rather vaguely. (We also discuss the message itself in this issue starting on page 35).

Everybody wants to know

Before the presentation, the expert on the revision of the Narcotics Law was asked by various interested parties what the status of the Federal Council's message was and - above all - what it would and would not contain. Gutzwiller was unable to resolve this tension. Instead, he gave an interesting lecture with two focal points. On the one hand, his topic was the technical side of law revision: What has to happen in which order for an amended law to come into force? Secondly, he outlined the possible contents of the revision and pointed out the problems associated with these contents, which set the framework for the political discussion in parliament as well.

About the revision process

So everyone was waiting anxiously for the message of the Federal Council, which has been published in the meantime. According to this message, the first council has to be determined. Switzerland has a bicameral parliament (National Council and Council of States) and every business is first discussed in one council and then referred to the second council. Before the actual discussion in the first council, its commission deliberates on the Federal Council's message (during June, the commission of the Council of States probably started these deliberations). When the discussions in the First Council are completed (this should happen in the course of 2001), the business will be brought to the Commission of the Second Council and then dealt with by the Second Council itself (this could happen in 2002). There may be two delays in this area. On the one hand, the commissions may still decide to hold further hearings or have additional reports prepared by experts. On the other hand, differences may arise between the two councils during the deliberations, which will then have to be settled. Once the councils have reached agreement and passed the federal decree, a referendum can be lodged against it. It is almost certain that this will happen: there are enough die-hards who will fight even the most minimal improvements on principle. These forces are also strong enough to collect the necessary 50,000 signatures within 90 days, so that the referendum comes about. Finally, the amended narcotics law must be approved in a referendum (which is expected to be in 2003) and then be enacted (around 2004). However, if it fails in the referendum, the whole discussion would be set back by years: Apart from a pile of broken pieces, nothing would have been achieved. So much for the technical procedure. Now to the possible contents of the revision.

Tobacco and alcohol cannot be defined as addictive substances

At the beginning of the discussions about a revision, the idea was not simply to carry out a narcotics law revision, but to create a general narcotics law. Alcoholic beverages and tobacco products would then also have been included. Not in the sense that they would have been banned as well. They would have remained legal, but they would also have been listed as addictive substances. However, the innkeepers and other well-organized circles mobilized massively against this, so that this part fell silently under the table. Although especially preventive medicine knows that legal drugs are a much bigger problem for the health of the population than illegal drugs. But in terms of realpolitik, it is impossible to push through a law against the resistance of the landlords and the tobacco companies.

Heroin levy to be anchored

The first issue remaining for the revision of the law is the definitive anchoring of heroin dispensing for severely addicted fixers. Until now, this very successful form of treatment has been based on an urgent federal decree that expires in 2004. Many preventive physicians and those working in addiction support want this form of treatment to be definitively anchored in the law. If this does not succeed, the heroin program would have to be terminated at the end of 2004 and many fixers would be back on the street - with all the negative consequences (procurement crime, spread of HIV and hepatitis). So there is a lot of pressure to deal with this issue.

No longer punish consumption

The second issue is the exemption from punishment for consumption. Either for all narcotics, or only for hashish and weed. In principle many see that the punishment of the consumption brings nothing, but the reservations straight against the punishment exemption of the heroin and cocaine consumption are nevertheless still quite large. Exempting smoking pot from punishment, on the other hand, should find a majority among the population, according to Gutzwiller's assessment. For preventive medical reasons, a ban on consumption on public property would be desirable. How far the preparatory acts could then also be exempted from punishment (possession of 5 grams?, possession of 10 grams?, how many balcony plants are okay?, etc.), that remains open and will still trigger some interesting discussions.

Tolerate hemp trade?

Finally, the third topic is the new handling of commercial cultivation and sale. This is certainly the most controversial chapter. The proposed opportunity principle is nowhere integrated in Swiss legislation, unlike in Holland, and there are still many people against making money from the sale of hash and weed. Of course completely hypocritical, considering how much money is made with the legal drugs alcohol and tobacco. And these cannot even be defined as addictive substances for political reasons, because otherwise the landlords would threaten with a referendum.

Beautiful models and realpolitik

For Gutzwiller, it is problematic that the last vote on controlled heroin distribution resulted in an acceptance, but with only 55 percent yes votes. Even if it can be assumed that the first issue mentioned above, namely heroin distribution, would be accepted again, it is questionable how many other issues can be combined in a voting proposal so that there is still an acceptance. And it is clear to him that it does not bear much more additional: perhaps the exemption from punishment of cannabis use, that could be in.

A template or step by step?

He could also imagine a division of the various issues. After all, it would be a rather strange vote if there were a joint bill for the controlled release of heroin and the exemption from punishment of the consumption of cannabis products. Two issues that actually don't have much to do with each other (except that both substances are in the same total prohibition category). A staging or parallel treatment seems to be possible to Gutzwiller, he will probably push for it in the National Council. As a preventive physician, it is clearly important to him to anchor heroin distribution. For him, there is a need for action there, and he wants to make a difference. On the subject of hemp, he certainly tends to be on our side, but I already sensed that this subject is not very close to his heart. For him, smoking pot is primarily a harmful behavior (smoking) and he certainly does not consider it desirable that people smoke pot. There is also simply no pressure for him to move forward with this issue (there is no threat of HIV and hepatitis epidemics from people smoking pot, there is no threat of open drug scenes, people smoking pot are not perceived by him as a powerful force, such as the Restaurant Owners Association). He is certainly in favor of legalizing consumption, but this does not have the same importance for him as the definitive anchoring of heroin distribution.

Desirable and feasible

Gutzwiller also made a clear distinction between two levels: On the one hand, one can discuss what would be just, logical, beautiful models of a new way of dealing with psychoactive substances. On the other hand, one must ask oneself the question: How do we get what to the point where it is approved in a referendum in the next few months? These are effectively two different considerations. Beautiful concepts may be beautiful and also morally convincing, perhaps even just. But political enforceability does not necessarily have anything to do with it. Only proposals that reach a majority are enforceable. This will be the exciting process of the coming months: Who will bring together which majorities for which issues in parliament and among the population?

Last modified: 2023/12/22 21:16

Share page: facebook X (Twitter)

Legal overview

Shit happens 15 (Summer 2023)

This overview as PDF

Do you speak English? → Go to our English page!

li182123.jpg

Distribution d'héroïne avant la légalisation du chanvre

Lors d'une conférence en février, Felix Gutzwiller, médecin préventif et membre du Conseil national, a expliqué son évaluation de l'état d'avancement de la révision de la loi sur les stupéfiants en Suisse. Une conférence intéressante avec un aperçu clair des problèmes politiques de la révision de la loi sur les stupéfiants.

Conférence à l'Institut de recherche sur les addictions

L'Institut de recherche sur les addictions de Zurich organise chaque mois, dans le cadre de l'ISF Forum, un événement sur les services de prévention et de traitement dans le domaine des addictions. Il souhaite réunir la pratique et la recherche et informer sur les tendances dans le domaine des addictions. Au début de l'année 2000, l'ISF a demandé à Felix Gutzwiller, conseiller national bourgeois bien connu et professeur de médecine préventive, de faire un rapport sur la révision de la loi sur les stupéfiants le 6 février 2001. A l'époque, on supposait encore que le message du Conseil fédéral serait certainement disponible au début du mois de février, de sorte qu'il pourrait être informé et discuté lors de cette conférence. Mais comme souvent dans l'histoire de la révision de la loi sur les stupéfiants, ce délai n'a pas été respecté. Néanmoins, la conférence a eu lieu - mais l'orateur aurait préféré discuter de cette prochaine étape en termes concrets plutôt que de devoir spéculer de manière plutôt vague à ce sujet. (Nous abordons également le message lui-même dans ce numéro à partir de la page 35).

Tout le monde veut savoir

Avant la conférence, divers intéressés ont demandé à l'expert de la révision de la loi sur les stupéfiants où en était le message du Conseil fédéral et, surtout, ce qu'il contiendrait et ce qu'il ne contiendrait pas. Gutzwiller n'a pas été en mesure de résoudre cette tension. Au lieu de cela, il a donné une conférence intéressante avec deux points centraux. D'une part, son sujet était l'aspect technique de la révision de la loi : que doit-il se passer dans quel ordre pour qu'une loi modifiée entre en vigueur ? Ensuite, il a exposé le contenu possible de la révision et a souligné les problèmes liés à ce contenu, ce qui a fixé le cadre de la discussion politique au Parlement également.

Sur le déroulement de la révision

Tout le monde attendait donc avec impatience le message du Conseil fédéral, qui a été publié entre-temps. Selon ce message, le premier conseil doit être déterminé. La Suisse a un parlement bicaméral (Conseil national et Conseil des États) et chaque affaire est d'abord traitée dans un conseil, puis renvoyée au second conseil. Avant la discussion proprement dite au sein du premier conseil, sa commission délibère sur le message du Conseil fédéral (dans le courant du mois de juin, la commission du Conseil des États a probablement entamé ces délibérations). Lorsque les discussions au sein du premier conseil seront terminées (ce qui devrait se produire dans le courant de l'année 2001), l'affaire sera portée devant la commission du deuxième conseil, puis traitée par le deuxième conseil lui-même (ce qui pourrait se produire en 2002). Il peut y avoir deux retards dans cette zone. D'une part, les commissions peuvent encore décider d'organiser des auditions supplémentaires ou de faire établir des rapports complémentaires par des experts. D'autre part, des divergences peuvent apparaître entre les deux Conseils au cours des consultations, qui doivent alors encore être réglées. Une fois que les Conseils se sont mis d'accord et ont adopté l'arrêté fédéral, un référendum peut être déposé contre celui-ci. Il est presque certain que cela se produira : il y a suffisamment d'irréductibles qui s'opposeront par principe aux améliorations les plus minimes. Ces forces sont également suffisamment fortes pour collecter les 50 000 signatures nécessaires dans les 90 jours afin que le référendum puisse avoir lieu. Enfin, la loi modifiée sur les stupéfiants doit être approuvée par référendum (ce qui devrait être le cas en 2003), puis être mise en application (vers 2004). Toutefois, en cas d'échec au référendum, l'ensemble du débat serait ramené des années en arrière : En dehors de la pagaille, rien n'aurait été accompli. Voilà pour la procédure technique. Passons maintenant au contenu possible de la révision.

Le tabac et l'alcool ne peuvent être définis comme des substances créant une dépendance.

Au début des discussions sur une révision, l'idée n'était pas simplement de procéder à une révision de la loi sur les stupéfiants, mais de créer une loi générale sur les stupéfiants. Les boissons alcoolisées et les produits du tabac auraient alors également été inclus. Pas dans le sens où ils auraient été interdits aussi. Ils seraient restés légaux, mais ils auraient également été répertoriés comme des substances addictives. Cependant, les aubergistes et d'autres milieux bien organisés se sont massivement mobilisés contre cela, de sorte que cette partie est passée sous silence. Bien que la médecine préventive en particulier sache que les drogues légales constituent un problème bien plus important pour la santé de la population que les drogues illégales. Mais en termes de realpolitik, il est impossible de faire passer une loi contre la résistance des propriétaires et des compagnies de tabac.

La taxe sur l'héroïne doit être ancrée

La première question qui reste à régler pour la révision de la loi est l'ancrage définitif de la distribution d'héroïne pour les fixeurs gravement dépendants. Jusqu'à présent, cette forme de traitement très efficace reposait sur un arrêté fédéral urgent qui expire en 2004. De nombreux médecins de prévention et d'aide aux toxicomanes souhaitent que cette forme de traitement soit définitivement ancrée dans la loi. Si ce n'est pas le cas, le programme de lutte contre l'héroïne devra être arrêté à la fin de 2004 et de nombreux fixeurs se retrouveront dans la rue - avec toutes les conséquences négatives (proxénétisme, propagation du VIH et des hépatites). Il y a donc une forte pression pour traiter cette question.

Ne plus punir la consommation

La deuxième question concerne l'exemption de peine pour la consommation. Soit pour tous les stupéfiants, soit seulement pour le haschisch et beuh. En principe, de nombreuses personnes considèrent que punir la consommation est inutile, mais des réserves subsistent quant à l'exemption de la consommation d'héroïne et de cocaïne de la punition. Exempter fumer de l'herbe de la punition, en revanche, devrait trouver une majorité dans la population, selon Gutzwiller. Pour des raisons médicales préventives, une interdiction de la consommation sur le domaine public serait souhaitable. La question de savoir dans quelle mesure les actes préparatoires pourraient également être exemptés de peine (possession de 5 grammes, possession de 10 grammes, combien de balconnières sont acceptables, etc.

Tolérer le commerce du chanvre ?

Enfin, le troisième sujet est le nouveau traitement de la culture et de la vente commerciales. Il s'agit certainement du chapitre le plus controversé. Le principe d'opportunité proposé n'est intégré nulle part dans la législation suisse, contrairement à la Hollande, et de nombreuses personnes sont encore contre le fait de gagner de l'argent avec la vente de hasch et beuh. Complètement hypocrite, bien sûr, si l'on considère tout l'argent que rapportent les drogues légales que sont l'alcool et le tabac. Et ceux-ci ne peuvent même pas être définis comme des substances addictives pour des raisons politiques, car sinon les propriétaires menaceraient d'un référendum.

Beaux modèles et realpolitik

Pour Gutzwiller, il est problématique que le dernier vote sur la distribution contrôlée d'héroïne ait abouti à une acceptation, mais avec seulement 55 % des voix en faveur. Même si l'on peut supposer que le premier point mentionné ci-dessus, à savoir la distribution de l'héroïne, serait à nouveau accepté, on peut se demander combien d'autres points peuvent être combinés dans une proposition de vote pour qu'elle soit encore acceptée. Et il est clair pour lui qu'il ne peut pas prendre beaucoup plus : peut-être l'exemption de la punition de la consommation de cannabis, qui pourrait être dans.

Un modèle ou un pas à pas ?

Il pourrait également imaginer une division des différentes questions. Après tout, ce serait un vote plutôt étrange s'il y avait un projet de loi commun pour la distribution contrôlée d'héroïne et l'exemption de peine de la consommation de produits du cannabis. Deux questions qui n'ont en fait pas grand-chose à voir l'une avec l'autre (si ce n'est que les deux substances font partie de la même catégorie d'interdiction totale). Une mise en scène ou un traitement parallèle semble possible à Gutzwiller, il va probablement faire pression en ce sens au Conseil national. En tant que médecin de prévention, il est clairement important pour lui d'ancrer la distribution d'héroïne. Pour lui, il y a un besoin d'action là-bas, et il veut faire la différence. Lorsqu'il s'agit de chanvre, il a certes tendance à être de notre côté, mais je sentais déjà que cette question ne lui tenait pas à cœur. Pour lui, fumer de l'herbe est avant tout un comportement nuisible (fumer) et il ne considère certainement pas qu'il soit souhaitable que les gens fument de l'herbe. De plus, il n'y a tout simplement aucune pression pour qu'il avance sur cette question (il n'y a pas de menace d'épidémie de VIH et d'hépatite due aux personnes fumant de l'herbe, il n'y a pas de menace de scènes de drogue ouvertes, les personnes fumant de l'herbe ne sont pas perçues par lui comme une force puissante, comme l'association des restaurateurs). Il est certes favorable à la légalisation de la consommation, mais celle-ci n'a pas pour lui le même statut que l'ancrage définitif de la distribution d'héroïne.

Souhaitable et réalisable

Gutzwiller a également établi une distinction claire entre deux niveaux : d'une part, on peut discuter de ce qui serait des modèles justes, logiques et beaux d'une nouvelle façon de traiter les substances psychoactives. D'autre part, nous devons nous poser la question : Comment faire en sorte qu'elle soit approuvée par référendum dans les prochains mois ? Il s'agit en fait de deux considérations différentes. Les beaux concepts sont peut-être beaux et aussi moralement convaincants, peut-être même justes. Mais l'applicabilité politique n'a pas nécessairement à voir avec cela. Seules les propositions qui atteignent une majorité sont exécutoires. Ce sera le processus passionnant des prochains mois : Qui rassemblera quelles majorités pour quelles questions au parlement et parmi la population ?

Dernière modification : 2023/12/22 21:16

Partager la page: facebook X (Twitter)

Aperçu juridique

Shit happens 15 (été 2023)

Cet aperçu en PDF