The youth as a special case of the prosecution

Laws

Passing on to juveniles as misdemeanor
Narcotics Act NarcA, SR 812.121, Article 19bis (misdemeanor) and
Article 19 paragraph 2, point d (serious case), both in PDF (2021) on pages 16&17
No fine for juveniles
Regulatory Fines Act (OBG), SR 314.1, article 4, item 2 (Exception to all other OB), in PDF (2020) on page 3

Conditions

In principle, everything that is illegal for adults is also illegal for juveniles. However, the prosecution is different: the youth prosecutor's office conducts the proceedings, and the range of punishment is even more open than for adults.
There is no administrative fine procedure for juveniles, only reprimands.

Tips

The best, but unfortunately unrealistic tip is probably: Don't start smoking pot until you're 18. The range of punishment is wide and the probability of getting puffed at an early age (less because of smoking pot, more because of prosecution) is very high (parents, school, company, youth prosecutor's office).

Penalties

There are “stoner courses” where young people who are caught have to deal with their consumption. There may be warnings or social work, fines are also possible, and in serious cases parental custody may be curtailed or a home stay ordered.


The youth as a special case of the prosecution

Targeting young people

6,213 adolescents were reported in 2020. If THC users are not yet 18 years old, the procedure is different than for adults. Basically, the prohibition is valid, as we describe it in this brochure, but the range of punishment is even more open than with adults. This means that the youth prosecutor's office has a very large discretion as to how to intervene when it learns that young people are smoking pot. They can summon them or give them a written warning (possibly also impose fees ).

The police report young people they catch smoking pot. The youth prosecutor's office then makes the decision. This can be a warning (e.g. 100 francs fees ), it can also be a fine (e.g. 50 francs and 50 francs fees ). For this purpose, addiction courses are always imposed on the young people, which can last hours to half days. Those who are otherwise conspicuous or have been reported several times are of course dealt with more severely. The possibilities then range from a higher fine to work assignments to conditional or unconditional incarceration.

Courses for smokers

In some areas, if young people who smoke pot are noticed, the youth prosecutor's office does not immediately impose a penalty, but the young people must attend prevention courses and deal with the issue of addiction (“measures”). In case of repeated conspicuousness, a penalty is then imposed.

How do the parents react?

The parents also have some say in the case of under-18s. They are usually informed by the juvenile lawyer (and the decision of the juvenile lawyer naturally reaches the parents). Then, at the latest, an intensive discussion with the parents takes place in addition to the interference of the authorities.

They react very differently. While some fathers and mothers smoke pot themselves and have experience, a world collapses for inexperienced parents - they see their offspring already lying under some bridge with a needle in their arms. These discussions with the parents are more difficult for many young people than the punishment by the juvenile prosecutor's office, because they live together with their parents every day. The legal problems should also be discussed.

No fines for teenagers

Juveniles cannot be punished with a fine for smoking a joint in front of the police. The 100 francs is for adults only. The police must report under-18s through the “normal” channels, with the youth prosecutor's office leading the proceedings.

Joint consumption

One specific point to note: When youth under 18 smoke pot with those over 18, passing the joint to those who pass it to those over 18 is not punishable. However, for those who pass the joint to under 18s, it is a misdemeanor, i.e. a highly illegal behavior. This provision was probably intended to combat the temptation of young people to use THC, but it can affect adults who consume THC products together with young people - and especially young people who smoke joints with other young people. Here, too, there is a transfer to under 18-year-olds!

Frequent hand change

In general, the passing on of cannabis containing THC is also always an issue among adults misdemeanor. However, while older adults tend to individualize their consumption and purchase or deal with it in small circles and above all privately, adolescents and young adults have more contacts, spend more time in public, exchange more there - and also exchange cannabis to help each other out or advance money for cannabis procurement. These are all misdemeanor, which can also be well observed and then also punished.

Different consequences

Those who get good grades in school or perform well in their apprenticeship normally hardly have to fear severe sanctions. On the other hand, those who do poorly in their training or even engage in other illegal activities (spraying, theft) will naturally be dealt with more severely. The sooner someone is caught, the greater the likelihood that he or she will receive increasingly severe penalties - because repeat offenses can be punished more severely with each offense. So it really makes a lot of sense to postpone the first reprimands in life as much as possible: After all, anyone who has already received several fines before reaching the age of majority is in for a difficult start to adult life.


Youth protection

Unfortunately, young people were excluded from the pilot projects. In this area in particular, it would be urgent and important to develop a new approach.

Everyone wants to protect youth, but can society protect youth with punishment? Obviously not.

The only thing to do here is to decriminalize consumption and prohibit sale to young people.


Examples of punishments against juveniles

More articles on the topic of youth

Master thesis (clinical psychology)

What factors influence adolescent drug use and what role do stress and coping play?
(Brigitte Pfanner-Meyer, Barbara Schmocker - ZHAW, May 2016, 108 pages, 3.4 MB)



en/thc_recht/jugend.txt · Last modified: 2021/10/14 15:57 by fabian
This page was translated automatically. Please report mistakes if you find any!

Share page: facebook Twitter

Legal Aid Brochure

Unfortunately, this brochure is only available in German.

Shit happens, 14th edition summer 2021


Shit happens 14
Order now

Do you speak English? → go to our English page!

Les jeunes, un cas particulier de persécution

Lois

Transmettre aux jeunes en tant que délit

Loi sur les stupéfiants LStup, SR 812.121, article 19bis (délit) ainsi que
Article 19, paragraphe 2, point d (cas grave), tous deux en PDF (2021), page 17.
Pas de amende d'ordre pour les adolescents

Loi sur les amendes d'ordre (LAO), RS 314.1, article 4, point 2 (exception à toutes les autres AO), dans le PDF (2020) page 3


Conditions

En principe, tout ce qui est illégal pour les adultes l'est aussi pour les mineurs. Toutefois, poursuite est différent : le bureau de l'ombudsman des jeunes mène la procédure et l'éventail des sanctions est encore plus ouvert que pour les adultes.
Il n'existe pas de procédure d'amende administrative pour les mineurs, seulement des réprimandes.

Conseils

Le meilleur conseil, mais malheureusement irréaliste, est de ne commencer à fumer de l'herbe qu'à partir de 18 ans. L'éventail des sanctions est large et la probabilité de se faire bouffer à un âge précoce (moins à cause de l'herbe, plus à cause de poursuite) est très élevée (parents, école, entreprise, parquet de la jeunesse).

Pénalités

Il existe des “cours pour fumeurs” où les jeunes qui se font prendre doivent faire face à leur consommation. Il peut y avoir des avertissements ou un travail social, des amendes sont également possibles et, dans les cas les plus graves, la garde parentale peut être réduite ou le maintien dans un foyer peut être ordonné.


Les jeunes, un cas particulier de persécution

Cibler les jeunes

6'213 adolescents ont été signalés en 2020. Si les consommateurs de THC n'ont pas encore 18 ans, la procédure est différente de celle des adultes. En principe, l'interdiction est valable, telle que nous la décrivons dans cette brochure, mais l'éventail des sanctions est encore plus ouvert que pour les adultes. Cela signifie que le bureau du médiateur des jeunes dispose d'un très large pouvoir discrétionnaire quant à la manière dont il souhaite intervenir lorsqu'il découvre que des jeunes fument de l'herbe. Ils peuvent les convoquer ou leur donner un avertissement écrit (éventuellement aussi les frais ).

La police dénonce les jeunes qui sont pris en train de fumer de l'herbe. Le bureau du Médiateur des jeunes prend alors une décision. Il peut s'agir d'un avertissement (par exemple 100 francs les frais ) ou d'une amende (par exemple 50 francs et 50 francs les frais ). À cette fin, des cours de toxicomanie sont toujours imposés aux jeunes, qui peuvent durer de quelques heures à une demi-journée. Les personnes qui se font remarquer autrement ou qui ont été signalées plusieurs fois sont bien sûr traitées plus sévèrement. Les possibilités vont alors d'une amende plus élevée à des missions de travail, en passant par une incarcération conditionnelle ou inconditionnelle.

Cours pour fumeurs

Dans certaines régions, si des jeunes qui fument de l'herbe sont remarqués, le parquet de la jeunesse n'impose pas immédiatement une sanction, mais les jeunes doivent suivre des cours de prévention et s'occuper de la question de la dépendance (“mesures”). En cas de récidive, une sanction est alors prononcée.

Comment les parents réagissent-ils ?

Les parents ont également beaucoup à dire dans le cas des moins de 18 ans. Ils sont généralement informés par l'avocat des mineurs (et la décision de l'avocat des mineurs est bien sûr envoyée aux parents). Ensuite, au plus tard, une discussion intensive avec les parents a lieu en plus de l'intervention des autorités.

Ils réagissent très différemment. Si certains pères et mères fument eux-mêmes de l'herbe et ont de l'expérience, pour les parents inexpérimentés, un monde s'écroule - ils voient leur progéniture allongée sous un pont avec une aiguille dans les bras. Ces discussions avec les parents sont plus difficiles pour beaucoup de jeunes que la sanction du parquet des mineurs, car ils vivent avec leurs parents tous les jours. Les problèmes juridiques doivent également être abordés.

Pas d'amendes administratives pour les mineurs

Les mineurs ne peuvent pas être sanctionnés par un amende d'ordre pour avoir fumé un joint devant la police. Les 100 francs sont réservés aux adultes. La police doit dénoncer les moins de 18 ans de manière “normale”, le parquet de la jeunesse dirigeant la procédure.

Consommation commune

Il convient de noter un point particulier : Si des jeunes de moins de 18 ans fument de l'herbe avec des personnes de plus de 18 ans, la transmission du joint n'est pas punissable pour ceux qui transmettent le joint à des personnes de plus de 18 ans. En revanche, pour ceux qui passent le joint à des mineurs, il s'agit d'un délit, c'est-à-dire d'un comportement hautement illégal. Cette disposition visait probablement à empêcher les jeunes d'être séduits par la consommation de THC, mais elle peut toucher les adultes qui consomment des produits à base de THC en compagnie de jeunes - et surtout les jeunes qui fument des joints avec d'autres jeunes. Là aussi, le THC est transmis aux jeunes de moins de 18 ans !

Changement fréquent de main

En général, la transmission du cannabis contenant du THC est toujours un problème, même chez les adultes délit. Cependant, alors que les adultes plus âgés ont tendance à individualiser leur consommation et leurs achats ou à les traiter dans un cercle restreint et surtout en privé, les adolescents et les jeunes adultes ont plus de contacts, passent plus de temps en public, y échangent davantage - et échangent également du cannabis pour s'entraider ou avancer de l'argent pour l'achat de cannabis. Ce sont tous des délit, qui peuvent aussi être bien observés et ensuite également punis.

Des conséquences différentes

Ceux qui ont de bonnes notes à l'école ou qui obtiennent de bons résultats dans leur apprentissage n'ont normalement pas à craindre de sanctions sévères. En revanche, ceux qui ont de mauvais résultats scolaires, voire qui se livrent à d'autres activités illégales (peinture à la bombe, vol), sont naturellement traités plus sévèrement. Plus une personne se fait prendre tôt, plus elle a de chances de se voir infliger des sanctions de plus en plus sévères - car les récidives peuvent être punies plus sévèrement à chaque fois. Il est donc tout à fait logique de repousser autant que possible les premières réprimandes de la vie : En effet, toute personne qui a déjà reçu plusieurs amendes avant d'atteindre l'âge de la majorité va connaître un début difficile dans la vie adulte.


Protection de la jeunesse

Malheureusement, les jeunes ont été exclus des projets pilotes. Il serait urgent et important de développer une nouvelle approche dans ce domaine.

Tout le monde veut protéger la jeunesse, mais la société peut-elle protéger la jeunesse avec des punitions ? Apparemment pas.

La seule chose qui reste à faire est de dépénaliser la consommation et d'interdire la vente de drogues aux jeunes.


Exemples de sanctions à l'encontre de mineurs

Plus d'articles sur le thème de la jeunesse

Mémoire de maîtrise (psychologie clinique)

fr/thc_recht/jugend.txt · Dernière modification: 2021/10/17 15:42 (modification externe)
Cette page a été traduite automatiquement. Veuillez signaler les erreurs si vous en trouvez !

Partager la page: facebook Twitter

Brochure sur l'aide juridique

Shit happens, 14ème édition à partir de l'été 2021


Shit happens 14
Commandez maintenant