Beginning of the debate on medical hemp use

The Federal Council has published the message on medicinal cannabis. After 2011, this would be the second step towards normalizing the use of hemp as a medicinal product. But it will remain restrictive: The sick get no rights.

Medical cannabis

The Federal Council has delivered

Lengthy discussions have now led to a concrete proposal: The Federal Council published the corresponding dispatch to parliament as planned in mid-year. This business has also been given its own number: 20.060. In essence, the Federal Council's proposal corresponds to the one it had submitted for consultation in 2019 (see Legalize it! No. 85, pages 4 and 5). First, a preliminary remark on medicinal cannabis.

Medicinal products / Extemporaneous preparations

Actually, the hope was that the pharmaceutical industry would develop THC drugs, conduct clinical research, and that these would then be approved by Swissmedic for certain clinical pictures. But this did not happen and still does not seem to happen (there is still only one such approved drug, Sativex, for more severe forms of MS). Therefore, most hemp preparations are extemporaneous preparations (produced by pharmacies, mostly drops) that are exempt from approval.

The core of the template

It is about “the lifting of the traffic ban on narcotics of the effect type cannabis for medical purposes”. That sounds a bit abstract. We must be aware that cannabis with a THC content of 1% or more is still classified in the total prohibition category. Actually, nothing at all should be done with it.

Nevertheless, in 2011 the legal possibility was created to use this totally prohibited plant for medical purposes by way of exception. For this, however, an exceptional permit from the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) was and is always necessary. In the meantime, thousands of such temporary exemptions have been granted and the authorities consider this no longer a viable option (because the exceptional character is so slowly lost).

Therefore, this bill wants to limit the total ban to hemp consumed for pleasure (which remains a prohibited narcotic). Medicinally used hemp should then be placed in a different category, among the “controlled narcotics with restricted marketability”. Swissmedic is responsible for this (as it already is for morphine, methadone, cocaine, etc.). Thus, medical use no longer requires an exceptional authorization from the FOPH, but is subject to the normal control regime of Swissmedic.

Freedom of treatment for physicians, but with mandatory reporting system

This gives doctors the basic possibility to treat sick people with cannabis. They no longer need to obtain an exceptional permit, but they should not then simply prescribe hemp to everyone. They must comply with their duty of care and are controlled by the cantons (cantonal doctors).

What is meant by this in detail remains to be seen and would be developed first. The timetable would be roughly as follows: If this NarcA-amendment would be passed, the medical use of hemp from 1% THC would no longer be prohibited in principle. Then various regulations could be adapted, also for seeds/cultivation changes would be needed and the control regime would have to be defined more precisely. Afterwards, doctors could start prescribing medical cannabis without an exemption.

In parallel, data on these medical prescriptions would be collected and evaluated, and the various medical societies (MS, pain, etc.) could develop recommendations. Thus, over the years, perhaps with cantonal differences, an accepted practice for physicians would emerge: Under which circumstances can they prescribe which doses of which preparations for which forms of consumption and for how long (and when not) - a kind of “good practice”.

The law does not exclude the possibility of vaporizable or smokable variants (this has been the subject of repeated controversy). In principle, this is also the competence and responsibility of the physician. But it is precisely such points that should be researched and clarified in the initial phase.

Deviations from the consultation variant

There is now no exemption from tobacco tax, because the Federal Court had ruled that hemp products do not constitute tobacco substitutes and are therefore generally not subject to this tax liability.

Some articles have been added to legitimize the authorities to collect data around cannabis prescriptions (especially when using unauthorized cannabis medicines). These were limited to the first seven years. The Federal Council determines exactly what data should be collected.

A restrictive relief

So that no one thinks that all dams are now breaking here and soon everyone who wants to can be treated with hemp, a quote from the message: “Cannabis, even for medical purposes, will remain a controlled narcotic whose therapeutic use is subject to restrictive conditions and must be precisely documented.” Sick people will still not be allowed to grow or treat themselves. This remains just as criminal as it is today. This change would be just the second step towards the normalization of hemp as medicine and certainly not a revolutionary leap forward.

The assumption of costs by the health insurance companies is also still a long way off, for this it would need new clinical studies on the effectiveness. According to the authorities, this has still not been proven.

What happens now

Soon, the parliamentary deliberations will begin (in the two commissions and the two councils), which will probably drag on for a year. The chance that the bill will pass is quite high.

➡ Details on parlament.ch, 20.060

Last modified: 2022/03/26 16:23
This page was translated automatically. Please report mistakes if you find any!

Share page: facebook Twitter

Legal Aid Brochure

Unfortunately, this brochure is only available in German.

Shit happens, 14th edition summer 2021


Shit happens 14
Order now

Do you speak English? → go to our English page!

Beginn der Debatte um die medizinische Hanf-Verwendung

Der Bundesrat hat die Botschaft zum Medizinalcannabis veröffentlicht. Nach 2011 wäre das der zweite Schritt in Richtung Normalisierung des Umgangs mit Hanf als Heilmittel. Doch es wird restriktiv bleiben: Die Kranken bekommen keine Rechte.

Medizinalcannabis

Der Bundesrat hat geliefert

Langwierige Diskussionen haben nun zu einem konkreten Vorschlag geführt: Der Bundesrat hat die entsprechende Botschaft ans Parlament wie geplant Mitte Jahr ver­öffentlicht. Dieses Geschäft hat auch eine ­eigene Nummer erhalten: 20.060. Im Wesentlichen entspricht der bundesrätliche Vorschlag demjenigen, den er 2019 in die Vernehmlassung gegeben hatte (siehe Legalize it! Nr. 85, Seiten 4 und 5). Zuerst noch eine Vorbemerkung zum Medizinalcannabis.

Arzneimittel / Magistralrezepturen

Eigentlich war die Hoffnung, dass die Pharmaindustrie THC-Medikamente entwickelt, klinisch erforscht und diese dann für bestimmte Krankheitsbilder von der Swissmedic bewilligt würden. Doch das ist nicht geschehen und scheint weiterhin nicht zu geschehen (es gibt nach wie vor nur ein solches zugelassenes Medikament, Sativex, für schwerere Formen von MS). Deshalb sind die meisten Hanfpräparate zulassungsbefreite Magistralrezepturen (von Apotheken hergestellt, meist Tropfen).

Der Kern der Vorlage

Es geht um «die Aufhebung des Verkehrsverbotes für Betäubungsmittel des Wirkungstyps Cannabis zu medizinischen Zwecken». Das tönt etwas abstrakt. Wir müssen uns hier bewusst machen, dass Cannabis ab 1 % THC-Gehalt nach wie vor in der Total­verbotskategorie eingereiht ist. Eigentlich dürfte damit überhaupt gar nichts getan werden.

Trotzdem wurde 2011 die gesetzliche Möglichkeit geschaffen, diese total verbotene Pflanze doch ausnahmsweise für medizinische Zwecke zu verwenden. Dafür war und ist jedoch immer eine Ausnahmebewilligung des Bundesamtes für Gesundheit (BAG) nötig. Mittlerweile sind tausende solcher befristeter Ausnahmebewilligungen erteilt worden und die Behörden stufen dies als keinen gangbaren Weg mehr ein (weil der Ausnahmecharakter so langsam verloren geht).

Deshalb will diese Vorlage das Totalverbot auf den genussmässig konsumierten Hanf beschränken (der bleibt also ein verbotenes Betäubungsmittel). Medizinisch verwendeter Hanf soll dann in einer andere Kategorie eingereiht werden, bei den «kontrollierten, beschränkt verkehrsfähigen Betäubungsmitteln». Dafür zuständig ist Swissmedic (wie bereits heute bei Morphin, Methadon, Kokain etc.). So benötigt die medizinische Verwendung keine Ausnahmebewilligung des BAG mehr, sondern untersteht dem normalen Kontrollregime von Swissmedic.

Ärztliche Behandlungsfreiheit, aber mit obligatorischem Meldesystem

Damit erhalten die Ärztinnen und Ärzte die grundsätzliche Möglichkeit, Kranke mit Cannabis zu behandeln. Sie brauchen keine Ausnahmebewilligung mehr einzuholen, aber sie sollen Hanf dann auch nicht einfach allen verschreiben. Sie müssen ihre Sorgfaltspflicht einhalten und werden von den Kantonen (KantonsärztInnen) kontrolliert.

Was darunter im Detail zu verstehen ist, bleibt noch offen und würde erst entwickelt werden. Der Zeitplan wäre in etwa wie folgt: Käme diese BetmG-Änderung durch, wäre die medizinische Verwendung von Hanf ab 1 % THC nicht mehr grundsätzlich verboten. Dann könnten verschiedene Verordnungen angepasst werden, auch fürs Saatgut/den Anbau bräuchte es noch Änderungen und das Kontrollregime müsste genauer definiert werden. Anschliessend könnten Ärzte und Ärztinnen beginnen, Medizinalcannabis ohne Ausnahmebewilligung zu verschreiben.

Parallel dazu würden Daten zu diesen ärzt­lichen Verschreibungen erhoben sowie aus­gewertet und die verschiedenen Ärztegesellschaften (MS, Schmerzen usw.) könnten Em­pfehlungen entwickeln. So würde sich dann über die Jahre, vielleicht mit kantonalen Unterschieden, eine akzeptierte Praxis für die Ärzte und Ärztinnen herausbilden: Unter welchen Umständen können sie welchen Kranken welche Dosen von welchen Zubereitungen für welche Konsumformen über wie lange verschreiben (und wann eben nicht) – eine Art «Gute Praxis» also.

Dabei wird im Gesetz nicht ausgeschlossen, dass es verdampf- oder rauchbare Varianten geben könnte (das wurde ja immer wieder kontrovers diskutiert). Grundsätzlich liegt auch dies in der Kompetenz und Verantwortung des Arztes, der Ärztin. Aber genau solche Punkte sollen eben in der Anfangsphase erforscht und geklärt werden.

Abweichungen von der Vernehmlassungsvariante

Es gibt nun keine Befreiung mehr von der Tabaksteuer, weil das Bundesgericht ja entschieden hatte, dass Hanfprodukte keine Tabakersatzprodukte darstellen und somit dieser Steuerpflicht generell nicht unterliegen.

Es wurden einige Artikel hinzugefügt, um die Behörden zur Erhebung von Daten rund um die Verschreibung von Cannabis zu legitimieren (speziell bei der Verwendung nicht zugelassener Cannabisarzneimittel). Diese wurden auf die ersten sieben Jahre befristet. Der Bundesrat legt fest, welche Daten genau erhoben werden sollen.

Eine restriktive Erleichterung

Damit niemand meint, hier seien nun alle Dämme am Brechen und bald könnten sich alle, die wollen, mit Hanf behandeln lassen, ein Zitat aus der Botschaft: «Cannabis wird auch zu medizinischen Zwecken weiterhin ein kontrolliertes Betäubungsmittel bleiben, dessen therapeutische Anwendung restriktiven Bedingungen un­terliegt und genau dokumentiert werden muss.»

Kranke dürfen weiterhin nicht selber anbauen und sich nicht selber behandeln. Das bleibt genau so kriminell wie heute. Diese Änderung wäre halt bloss der zweite Schritt in Richtung Normalisierung von Hanf als Medizin und sicher kein revolutionärer Sprung nach vorne.

Auch die Kostenübernahme durch die Krankenkassen liegt noch in weiter Ferne, dafür bräuchte es neue klinische Studien zur Wirksamkeit. Diese ist laut den Behörden immer noch nicht erwiesen.

Was nun geschieht

Bald beginnen die parlamentarischen Beratungen (in den beiden Kommissionen und den beiden Räten), die sich wohl ein Jahr hinziehen werden. Die Chance, dass die Vorlage durchkommt, ist ziemlich hoch.

➡ Details auf parlament.ch, 20.060

thc_recht/li880405.txt · Zuletzt geändert: 2020/12/08 15:43 von sos

Seite teilen: facebook Twitter

Rechtshilfe-Broschüre

Shit happens, 14. Auflage vom Sommer 2021


Shit happens 14
Jetzt bestellen